Who we are

The Australian Collaboration is an independent network of peak national community organisations. The Collaboration has no political links and does not support any political party. Its members are:

Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF), a national community-based organisation inspiring people to achieve a healthy environment for all Australians.

Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS), the peak community welfare body addressing the needs of people affected by poverty and inequality.

Choice (The Australian Consumers Association), an independent organisation providing advocacy and advice to empower consumers.

Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (CHASS), the Council promotes and provides advocacy services for the humanities, arts and social sciences and serves as a coordinating forum for teachers, researchers, professionals and practitioners in the sector.

Federation of Ethnic Community Councils of Australia (FECCA), the national peak body representing Australians from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.

National Council of Churches in Australia and its Social Justice Network (NCCA), a group of 19 churches working together for social justice, peace and shared spirituality.

Trust for Young Australians (TYA), a philanthropic organisation working for a fairer, just and sustainable Australia for young people.

Steering Committee

Dr Helen Sykes AM – Chair

Professor David Yencken AO – Past Chair

Mr Don Henry – Executive Director, Australian Conservation Foundation

Dr Jules Wills – Executive Director, Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Dr Loucas Nicolaou – Chief Executive Officer, Federation of Ethnic Communities’ Councils of Australia

Mr Alan Kirkland – Chief Executive Officer, Choice (Australian Consumers’ Association)

Mr Ross Tzannes AO – Former Senior Deputy Chair and National Convenor Environment Network, Federation of Ethnic Communities’ Councils of Australia

Ms Cassandra Goldie – Chief Executive Officer, Australian Council of Social Services

Reverend Tara Curlewis – General Secretary of the National Council of Churches in Australia

Mr Graham Tupper – National Liaison Manager, Australian Conservation Foundation Vice President, Australian Conservation Foundation

Recent releases


Hear Our Voice book cover Hear Our Voice Ken Coghill & Paula Wright

New reports

Book cover Are we progressing: Comprehensive monitoring and reporting in Australia Andrew Macintosh & Deb Wilkinson

New Essays

HRFA-cover Human Rights For and Against Spencer Zifcak & Alison King

Aus-Economy The Australian Economy Ian McAuley

GPoverty-img Global poverty Michelle Sowey

For the launch of the new web site:

Democracy in Australia

Full revisions completed.

Fact and Issue Sheets

Revisions to nearly all sheets completed.

School resources

Full revisions completed.